Register

Author Topic: Podcasts  (Read 2131 times)

The Duck

• Social Justice Duck
  • Denizen
    • View Profile
Podcasts
« on: August 30, 2014, 03:53:07 PM »
So, being a grad student, I get a lot of downtime when I am doing something mindless, which I usually dedicate to listening to podcasts (I also listen to a lot of standup but that may deserve its own topic). This is also inspired by Gref talking about Watch Out for Fireballs in another topic. Does anyone else listen have regular podcasts, and if so which ones would you recommend? I might already be oversaturated but I'm always looking for more.

Sports
---
Advanced NFL Analytics (variable, ~50 minutes): This gets at a lot of the systems that people are using to quantify NFL play, including how to assign individual credit to players, talking fantasy, and analyzing what decisions should make given certain scores and field position. Football analytics isn't on the level of other sports like baseball or even basketball but the guys that appear on this show give me hope that it will get better.

Around the NFL (2-3 times a week, ~1 hour episodes): I don't think these guys even have especially strong analysis, but I've listened to them for a while and they have good rapport. They bring up stories about other teams that I haven't been following but they don't go into very much depth. Still, it's a really easy listen.

BS Report with Bill Simmons (erratic, ~1 hour): I'm unsure what I think about Simmons since I think his writing can be grating and he's a really obnoxious Boston sports fan but he is able to carry a conversation fairly well. He also brings in people more interesting than him. Whether I'll listen to an episode depends on the guest, mostly.